top of page

Should you use Canson Watercolour Paper?

I just have to say it. I love Canson paper. But watercolour paper is tricky when it comes to brush lettering. Although amazing for blending, it is not 100% smooth, so there are mixed opinions whether or not to use brush pens on it.



Heavy Weight Paper

First of all, I want to say that this paper is 140lb, or 100g. This is the standard weight for watercolour paper, although some brands can be as light as 90lb or as heavy as 300lb. Of course the number of pounds a piece of paper weighs is doesn’t refer to its actual weight, but rather how much 500 sheets (one ream) of paper would weigh. It’s a confusing thing to understand.

I find that 140lb watercolour paper holds a lot of water well, but is not so think that it is hard to work with. It is also the right weight to bend in half for hand lettered cards.



Cold Pressed

If you read the labels on watercolour paper packs, you’ll see that there are two main types of paper. Cold press paper has a rougher, more defined texture, while hot press is relatively smooth. Because the Canson Watercolour Paper is cold pressed, it has a rougher texture, which I prefer for watercolour painting.


Are Brush Pens Okay?

Not really. Any paper that is textured is going to fray and damage your brush pens, making them last for a shorter amount of time. But is really depends on the kind of brush pens you have. Tombow Dual Brush Markers tend to fray very easily, while a lot of people use the Karin Markers on watercolour paper without any damage.

I like to play it safe and use this paper for waterbrush lettering and watercolour. I have done some blending on this paper by first writing my word in a light gray brush pen that I know is already frayed. Then I use a waterbrush and watercolours to fill in the piece with colour.

Great Paper for a Great Price

Overall this paper is great for practice, cardmaking and beginner letterers. It is very affordable and great quality for the price. I love using it for all kinds of lettering pieces and if I mess up, I don’t stress out about wasting a piece of expensive paper. Honestly, when it comes to paper, you can’t really go wrong with Canson!


28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page