top of page

Canson Mixed Media Paper Review

The Canson Mixed Media Sketchbook

Finding a mixed media paper for brush lettering is tricky, as most papers are textured, have a rough tooth and damage brush pen nibs easily. But the Canson Mixed Media Paper has none of those negative qualities. It is my all time favourite paper for blending, as it can withstand a fair amount or pressure and water without pilling.


Good Qualities

As I mentioned earlier, this paper is very smooth as far as mixed media papers are concerned and does not fray brush pen nibs. It is also 98lb, so it can hold up to a lot of wear and tear before pilling or ripping. It is also pretty bleed proof and I have used alcohol based markers and Sharpies on it with no bleed through.


Bad Qualities

Although this isn’t necessarily a bad quality, I don’t really love the fact that this paper comes in a sketchbook. This is just my opinion, but I prefer a pad over a sketchbook.

As with any paper that isn’t made especially for markers, this paper can eat away at your brush pen nibs over time. That is why I wouldn’t recommend it for practicing or drills. I think this paper is best for finished pieces and blending practice.


Should I Buy it?

My short answer is definitely yes, but it all depends on what type of lettering you are doing. If you are new to brush lettering and are just doing practice drills and ABCs, it makes no sense to use this paper. Stick with something like the Rhodia pad.

On the other hand, if you are like me and enjoy lots of blending, this paper is a great alternative to brush pen fraying watercolour paper.


I hope this review helps you in your paper hunting journey!

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page